County races on June 5 ballot take shape

The following candidates have filed to run in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties for the June 5 primary election. The deadline was Friday, March 9. For seats where the incumbents are not running, candidates have until Wednesday to file for the race. Those are for the San Mateo County superintendent of schools and Santa Clara County District 4 supervisor. Incumbents are indicated by an asterisk (*).


County Supervisor, 1st District (South San Jose, Los Gatos, Monte Sereno, Gilroy, Morgan Hill)

Mike Wasserman*
Tina To

County Supervisor, 4th District (West San Jose, Santa Clara, Campbell)

Ken Yeager * (termed out)
Don Rocha
Dominic Caserta
Pierluigi Oliverio
Susan Ellenberg
Jason Baker
Mike Alvarado
Maria Hernandez

Superior Court Judge

Recall Judge Aaron Persky — Yes or No

If Persky is recalled, candidates to replace him are:

Angela F. Storey
Cindy Seeley Hendrickson

Other Judges (all unopposed)

Javier Alcala*
Paul Bernal*
Franklin Bondonno*
Vincent J. Chiarello*
Linda R. Clark*
Paul Colin*
Julia Ann Emede*
Andrea E. Flint*
Maureen A. Folan*
Nahal Iravani-Sani*
Thomas E. Kuhnle*
Socrates Peter Manoukian*
Michele McKay McCoy*
William J. Monahan*
Daniel T. Nishigaya*
Elizabeth C. Peterson*
Mark H. Pierce*
Deborah A. Ryan*
Cynthia A. Sevely*
James L. Stoelker*
Drew C. Takaichi*
Ronald I. Toff*
Jesus Valencia*
Theodore C. Zayner*


Laurie Smith*
John Hirokawa
Joseph LaJeunesse
Joe A. Lopez
Martin J. Monica
Jose Salcido

District Attorney

Jeff Rosen*


County Supervisor, 2nd District (Belmont, San Mateo and Foster City)

Carole Groom*

Supervisor, 3rd District (San Carlos-Menlo Park and the coastside)

Don Horsley*
Dan Stegink

County Controller

Juan Raigoza*


Robert Foucrault*

District Attorney

Steve Wagstaffe*


Carlos Bolanos* (appointed incumbent)
Mark D. Melville

Tax Collector-Treasurer

Sandie Arnott*

Assessor-County Clerk-Recorder

Mark Church*
John Mooney

Superintendent of Schools

Gary Waddell
Nancy Magee

Superior Court Judge

Judicial Office 1

Donald Ayoob*

Judicial Office 2

Gerald Buchwald *
Richard Wilson

Judicial Office 3

Clifford V. Cretan*

Judicial Office 4

Leland Davis III*

Judicial Office 5

Susan Etezadi*

Judicial Office 6

Robert Foiles*

Judicial Office 7

John L. “Jack” Grandsaert*

Judicial Office 8

Elizabeth Lee*

Judicial Office 9

Lisa Novak*

Judicial Office 10

V. Raymond Swope*


Assembly District 22 (central and northern San Mateo County)

Kevin Mullin, D*
Christina Laskowski
Bridget Duffy

Assembly District 24 (southern San Mateo County, northern Santa Clara County)

Marc Berman, D*
Bob Goodwyn, Libertarian
Alex Glew, R


U.S. Rep., 18th District (southern San Mateo County, northern Santa Clara County)

Anna Eshoo, D*
Michael Melillo
John Carl Fredrich
Christine Russell
Dennis R.T. Slominski

U.S. Rep., 14th District (central, northern San Mateo County, southern San Francisco)

Jackie Speier, D*
Bridget Duffy
Cristina Osmena


Officials lists for statewide offices, including governor, and the U.S. Senate race are not yet available.